Women 9th, men 15th at Regional Championships

The women’s cross country team placed ninth at the NCAA DII South Central Regional Championships Saturday, while the men’s team finished 15th in Canyon, Texas.
There were 27 teams competing in the women’s race and 28 in the men’s.
Three Colorado schools dominated the championships. Adams State University, Alamosa, Colorado; Colorado School of Mines, Golden; and Western State Colorado University, Gunnison, placed in the top three for both races.
Alyse Henry, sophomore of Rock Springs, Wyoming, led the CSC women in the 6K race, placing 30th of the 183 individual runners, with a time of 22 minutes, 35.73 seconds. Nicky Banzhaf, senior of Chadron, finished nine places behind Henry, with a time of 22:55.04.
Julia Eskelson, freshman of Meeker, Colorado, and Taylor Allison, senior of Gordon, finished in 64th and 65th, respectively. Eskelson’s time was 23:35.53, Allison finished right behind her with a time of 23:35.53.
Dominique Oden, sophomore of Anaheim, California; Sarah Myers, junior of Anton, Colorado; and Emma Willadsen, freshman of Eaton, Colorado, finished 97th, 128th, and 147th, respectively.
On the men’s side, Levi Avila, senior of Mitchell, led the way in the 8K, placing 62nd out of 187 competitors with a time of 33:14.27. Eric Yager, senior of Hot Springs, South Dakota, finished five spots behind Avila, crossing the finish line in 33:26.18. Sheldon Curley, freshman of Ganado, Arizona, was the last CSC runner to place in the top 100, coming in at 95th with a time of 34:09.35.
Josef Gertner, senior of Fort Morgan, Colorado; Riley Howard, sophomore of Anchorage, Alaska; and Hunter Kratz, freshman of Seward, Alaska, finished 101st, 134th, and 143rd, respectively.
Adams State University’s Malena Grover, senior of Salinas, California, took the women’s individual title, crossing the finish line in 21:03.54. Adams State earned the top three spots in the women’s race.
ASU also took the top two places in the men’s race, with Lucio Ramirez, senior of Santa Ana, California, winning the title with a time of 30:38.47.

You may also like...

%d bloggers like this: